How Do I File for Divorce in Texas
Divorce is a difficult thing to deal with because there are so many things involved. Learn about the basic steps to get started with a divorce in Texas. The process can seem overwhelming but there are ways to make it easier. There are also resources available to help you navigate the process.
You should start by selecting the grounds you want to use in your divorce. Then, you'll need to fill out the petition for divorce. Once you've filed for divorce, you'll need to notify the court about your divorce. Divorce proceedings take place in the county where either party lives for at least 6 months, and the couple has been married for at least 90 days prior to filing for divorce. A copy of the petition must be delivered to the court by mail or hand delivery. Filing fees vary depending upon the amount of property involved, but usually cost $100-$200.For instance, if you are living in Collin County in Dallas you might either mail the above to or hand-deliver it, to the District Court Clerk’s Office, Collin County. It’s essential to note that filing fees differ from county to county. Filing without the help of an attorney is expensive. You need to check out the fee on the county’s website or call the clerk’s department. After paying the fee and sending in the original petition your case is underway.
You must file your divorce papers with the district clerk before serving them to your spouse. A waiver is the easiest way to give your spouse legal notice. A waiver signed by the other party waives any formal service of process. You must hire a process server if the other party won't sign a waiver. You must sign a waiver before getting divorced. Your spouse needs to sign a waiver too. If he/she refuses to do this, then you need to hire a third party to serve him/her with divorce papers and get an order from the judge allowing them to be served.
Your spouse has 20 days to respond to your petition. He/she must appear in court if served with papers. You can also file a counter-petition. A counter-petition requires a citation listing the case number and name of the original party filing the petition.
Texas is known for having a long waiting period requirement before granting divorces. This is because the state wants to ensure that both parties are mature enough to make decisions about their future lives. Waiting periods also give the courts time to evaluate the situation and determine whether there is any chance for reconciliation. Contested divorces cost more money than uncontested ones. You should try to get a divorce before you're married because then there won't be any problems. Online divorce is a great way to save money on your divorce. Divorce is very expensive and complicated. There are many things to consider in a divorce including child custody, child support payments, alimony, and dividing up the marital assets. An experienced divorce attorney in Harris County, Galveston County, Fort Bend County, Montgomery County, Brazoria County, Houston, Sugar Land, Missouri City, Stafford, Texas at Thornton Esquire Law Group, PLLC, will help you navigate through these issues. Mediation is a great option to settle disputes out of court. Mediation is a confidential process used to settle divorces. It is cheaper than hiring an attorney, and it can be done without going to court. If there is a chance of getting custody, the court may order a custody evaluation.
Final hearings are held when there is still no compromise. You must wait until the 60 days pass before going to court. A judge will decide whether or not you should get married. If you reach an agreement in writing, then a judge will ask some questions about the terms before signing off on the deal. Regardless of whether you came to a settlement or had a trial, once you've received your final decree of divorce, you'll be given a copy of the document. You must then take this document to the county courthouse and file it there. Once you've done this, your marriage is officially dissolved.
You can get divorced without having to go to court if you agree on everything. But if you do want to go to court, you must fill out a form called Petition for Divorce. This form tells the court what happened between you and your spouse. You can use this form even if you don't want to be married anymore. For example, if you've been living together for more than six months, you could ask the court to grant you a divorce. A judge would decide whether you were legally married or not. If you are legally married, then you would need to fill out another form called Affidavit of No Marriage Contract. This form lets the court know that you aren't married anymore. Then you would need to pay a fee before you could officially end your marriage. If you want to avoid going to court, you can fill out a form called Agreement Incident to Divorce instead. This form lets the two of you agree on how to divide up your assets and debts. If you have any questions about these forms, you can contact the Clerk of Court's office.
In Texas, whether you need an attorney for a divorce depends on the facts of your case. An experienced divorce attorney can help you understand your rights and obligations under the law and can advise you about how to protect them. Also, attorneys can help you get the most out of your settlement agreement by negotiating an equitable division of property and debts.
Make sure you do your homework by reading reviews online and talking to other clients. You may also want to consider hiring a divorce attorney who specializes in family law. Many times you can use law firm websites to get to know attorneys and the approach they take on divorce cases. Contact us today at www.thorntonesquirelawgroup.com .