How Do I Get an Accident Report in Texas?
Car accidents happen all the time. In fact, according to the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT), a reportable car accident occurs every 57 seconds in the State of Texas. If you are involved in an accident and are injured, it is important that you file a police report. Even if the injuries seem minor, you should always get a police report because:
You may not realize your car needs repairs until you notice a problem or hear an odd noise. You might not see any visible signs of damage, like dents, scratches, or broken windows. If you're not sure what happened, you'll need to hire an expert to inspect the damage. The police report will help you file a claim with your insurance company. Insurance companies will pay for repairs if the damage is covered under your policy.
It is very important for your lawyer to have a copy of any police reports related to an accident. Here are a few tips you should know if you ever need to make a car accident report in TexasHow to File a Police Report in Texas
You can file a police report online. After filing your report, you will receive an email confirmation stating when it was received. You will also receive a copy of your police report via mail within 10 days.
You can still file a police report even if you've already settled your dispute with the other party. However, you should always check with your insurance provider before doing so. If you're unsure about what to do, contact your insurer first.Car Accident Report Overview
The information you provide is based on the current law in your state. If there is any discrepancy between the information presented here and the law in your state, please contact us atWhen To Report an Accident With Police
In order to file a claim after an accident, you will need to complete a crash report. You will also need to provide the police officer with your driver's license number, insurance information, and the name and address of the other party involved in the accident. If the accident results in injuries, death, or damage to property that exceeds $1,000, then you will need to complete the Crash Report form, also known as the blue form.
Information about the accident including the place and time, the names of all drivers involved, the date of birth, the driver's license information, the state of the license and the license number, the driver's license plate number, the vehicle identification number, the name and address of the owner and the name of the policyholder, the name and address and the name of the insurer, the summary of what happened, and the contact information of the police department.
Weather and traffic conditions at the time of an accident.What Happens If I Do Not File a Report?
If you are involved in an accident, you should file a police report immediately. If you do not, you could face penalties including suspension of your driving privileges. However, this is true only if someone in the accident suffered bodily injury, died, caused property damage exceeding $1,000, or if the accident resulted in multiple injuries or fatalities. You should also note that greater damage and injuries can be revealed after the fact, so it is best to err on the side of caution.What Happens Next?
You should always contact an attorney after filing a police report. Insurance companies will often try to give you as few dollars as possible for your claim, even if you were at fault. An experienced personal injury lawyer in Harris County, Galveston County, Fort Bend County, Montgomery County, Brazoria County, Houston, Sugar Land, Missouri City, and Stafford, Texas at Thornton Esquire Law Group, PLLC, will know what to do when dealing with insurance companies and can help ensure that you get the compensation you deserve. Contact us today at www.thorntonesquirelawgroup.com for a free consultation.Texas Car Accident Report Overview
If you're involved in a car crash in Texas, you should report it to the state immediately. You'll need to report the accident within 24 hours after the crash occurs. If someone gets injured or killed, you should also call 911. If you're the driver, you should stay at the scene until the police arrive. You may be asked to provide your name, address, license plate number, insurance information, and contact numbers. You will also need to give a statement to the investigating officer. You should also keep a copy of the police report for your own records. You may be required to pay for any damage to the vehicle. If you were driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, you could face penalties. If you fail to report an accident, you could be charged with a crime.
Injury, death, or property damage greater than $1,000. You, your insurance company, the owner of the car, or your legal representative must file a claim with the Department of Transportation within ten days of the accident. If you choose not to file a claim, you may still receive a citation if there is evidence of an accident.
Date, time, location, and type of accident. Name, address, and phone number of all drivers involved in the accident. Driver license information (state of license, license number, expiration date) of all drivers involved in accident. License plate numbers and states of all vehicles involved in the accident.
All information about the accident, including the names and addresses of all parties involved, will be stored in the database. The database will not contain any personally identifiable information. Only the police department will have access to the database.
State laws are always subject to changes through the passage of new legislations, rulings in the higher court (including federal decisions), and ballot initiatives. Please check with your local bar association for any updates regarding your specific state.
You've just signed up for an account at Findlaw.com. You'll receive periodic emails containing news, updates and special offers from Findlaw.com. If you prefer not to receive emails from us, please see the unsubscribe link in those emails.Exceptions to Texas Car Accident Reporting Requirements
If an officer files a report on an accident, then there is no requirement to file a separate report if the accident does not meet any of the requirements listed above. If the officer did not file a report, then the driver may still need to file a report if he/she wants to receive insurance benefits. Penalties for Not Reporting
If you were involved in an accident that caused someone else to sustain bodily injury, death, property damage, or other damages totaling more than $1,000, then you must file a police report within 24 hours. If you fail to do so, your driver's license will be suspended for 90 days.Can I Solve This on My Own or Do I Need an Attorney?
If you were injured in a car crash, you may be entitled to financial compensation. You should contact a personal injury attorney to get information about your rights. An experienced attorney will provide you with personalized legal advice.