Texas Car Accident Report Basics
The Texas Penal Code requires police officers to immediately file reports on crashes involving injuries or deaths. In addition, officers must complete a separate form called a "Crash Report." This document includes information about the driver involved in the crash, the type of collision, and the extent of damages caused by the crash. Officers are required to submit the Crash Reports within ten days of the incident.
There are exceptions to the reporting requirements. For example, if a person files a police report on an accident prior to being hit by another vehicle, then there is no obligation to file a separate crash report. Also, if a police officer has already filed a police report on the same accident, then there is nothing additional to do.Penalties for Not Reporting
A motorist can face penalties under Texas law if he fails to notify authorities about an accident involving someone else who suffered serious injuries, died, or caused over $1,000 worth of damages. Drivers are required to contact local police within 24 hours of such accidents, even if no one is injured. Failure to do so could lead to fines up to $200 per day and suspension of driving privilegesReading Your Texas Car Accident Report
The Texas Department of Public Safety says it receives about 200,000 motor vehicle crash reports each year. In 2016 alone, there were over 2 million crashes reported throughout the state. With such large numbers, it is important to understand what information must be included in a crash report.
Texas requires you to file a written statement within 10 days of the collision. This includes your name, address, driver's license number, registration number, date of birth, telephone number, the names and addresses of any witnesses, and a description of how the accident occurred. You are required to provide your insurance policy number and contact information.
You are also required to submit copies of police reports, medical records, photographs, and any bills related to the accident. If you are injured in the crash, the law requires you to obtain a copy of your hospital bill.
If you wish to pursue legal action against another party involved in the crash, you must complete a separate form called a Certificate of Responsibility. This document provides basic information regarding the parties involved in the crash. It is used to prove fault in court.
Your car accident report is typically filed with the local district clerk's office. However, if you live outside of Tarrant County, you may need to file your report with the county where the crash occurred.Damages, Determining Fault
If you've been injured in a car accident, it's important to know how much money you could recover. This includes economic losses such as medical bills, missed workdays, and property damage. But there are other types of damages that might apply too. You may be able to collect compensation for emotional distress, pain and suffering, and even punitive damages.
The number of damages you're entitled to depend on several factors, including:
- Who caused the accident
- What type of vehicle hit you
- Where the collision took place
- Whether anyone else was involved
- Your injuries
If you've been injured in a car accident, it's important to know what information needs to be included in your car accident claim. A Texas car accident report is required if there are injuries, property damage, or both. However, some people think that filing a car crash report is unnecessary because no one else was hurt in the crash. But even though no one else was hurt, you still might be entitled to compensation for medical bills, lost wages, pain, suffering, etc. In fact, the state requires that you fill out a form called a "Personal Injury Protection Statement," which includes basic information such as your name, address, phone number, insurance policy info, date and place of the incident, and the names of anyone injured. These forms must be filed within 30 days of the accident.
You don't have to solve this on your own. Contact a Texas auto accident lawyer today in Harris County, Galveston County, Fort Bend County, Montgomery County, Brazoria County, Houston, Sugar Land, Missouri City, and Stafford, Texas at Thornton Esquire Law Group, PLLC. Contact us today at www.thorntonesquirelawgroup.com for a free consultation.Can I Solve This on My Own, or Do I Need an Attorney?
The car accident claim process can be confusing. You might think that you know what you need to do, but it can be easy to make mistakes. An experienced personal injury lawyer can help you understand how the law applies to your case and protect your interests. Afterward, you can ask specific questions about your case. For example, you could ask whether there is anything you can do yourself or whether you need to hire an attorney.
If you want to file a lawsuit against someone responsible for causing your injuries, you need to talk to a lawyer. There are many reasons why you might need a lawyer to represent you. For instance, some states require that you prove negligence on the part of another person in order to win damages. In addition, some people have limited resources and cannot afford to pay for legal representation.Working With an Attorney
If you are involved in a serious injury due to someone else's negligence, it is important to hire an experienced personal injury lawyer. An experienced attorney can help you understand what happened, how to file a claim against the responsible party, and negotiate fair compensation for your injuries. There are many factors that affect the amount of money that you might receive, including whether you suffered permanent damage, lost wages, medical bills, pain, suffering, etc. A good personal injury lawyer can guide you through the process.
Whether it's a serious collision involving injuries or just a minor fenders bender, you may want to speak with a personal injury attorney about your claim. After all, insurance companies handle most auto accidents, but there are some outstanding issues that may require further investigation. These include questions regarding liability, damages, medical bills, and even the possibility of a lawsuit. A car accident attorney knows the ins and outs of Texas law and can help you navigate a complicated process.